2017/18 Season Finale Concert

Featuring 2017 Clef Concerto Competition Winners

Barry Tan,
piano soloist

Austin Ng,
piano soloist

May 26, 2018, Sunday
Concert 7 pm | Pre-concert talk with Kemuel Wong
St. John’s Shaughnessy Church

About this event

Fifteen years ago, the VMO was founded with a vision of providing superior artistic, personal and professional mentorship to outstanding young musicians. Today, on the occasion of its Crystal 15th Anniversary, the orchestra has firmly established its place among the great and respected music ensembles of our metropolis. To culminate this tremendous milestone season, Award-Winning Canadian Conductor Ken Hsieh takes to the podium to lead the VMO in a performance of works by Mozart, Rachmaninoff, and Brahms. The featured soloists are the Junior and Senior Category winners of the 2017 VMO Clef Concerto Competition: pianists Austin Ng and Barry Tan. The Vancouver Metropolitan Orchestra presents the 2017/18 Season Finale Concert on Saturday, May 26th, 7:00pm at St. John’s Shaughnessy Anglican Church, Vancouver.

Mozart’s piano concertos were largely composed for himself to premiere and perform. Not only was he an incredible composer, but also a much sought after performer, maintaining a rigorous performing schedule where his piano was carted nearly every day from his home to a concert. The Piano Concerto No. 21 was composed within a four-week period in 1785 when Mozart was 29 years old. With this concerto and the Piano Concerto No. 20 before it, Mozart was shifting the piano concerto genre towards a more symphonic sound with a broader scope. To this day, Piano Concerto No. 21 remains a popular and virtuosic choice for concert pianists. VMO’s Clef Concerto Competition Junior Category winner Austin Ng will perform the majestic and poised 1st movement at this concert.

PDF (English)
PDF (Chinese)



Pre-concert talk
With Kemuel Wong

Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, K. 467
I: Allegro maestoso

Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18
I: Moderato
II: Adagio sostenuto
III: Allegro scherzando

Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73
I: Allegro non troppo
II: Adagio non troppo
III: Allegretto grazioso (Quasi Andantino)
IV: Allegro con spirito

(*The programme may be subject to change without prior notice.)

Generously Support By

Media Sponsors


General - $30
Student & Senior - $5 discount


Your support of the VMO is critical to our current and future success. Your tax-deductible contribution of $20 or more will help ensure our ability to excite, engage, and stimulate our audiences now and in the future. IT’S EASY & SECURE TO DONATE!

You may mail your donation to us at: Vancouver Metropolitan Orchestra 239-2416 Main street Vancouver, BC Canada V5T 3E2 Please make cheque(s) payable to: Vancouver Metropolitan Orchestra
  All donations of $20 or more are automatically acknowledged with a charitable tax receipt for the maximum amount allowed under Canada Revenue Agency guidelines. Please also include your mailing address so that we can send you a receipt. For more information about the many ways you can support the VMO, please contact us at 604.876.9397 or info@vmocanada.com.

Stay Updated